vajracchedikā prajñāpāramitā


(This book is a work in progress.)

The Diamond Sutra, as this text is known in English, is one of the most popular texts in Mahayana Buddhism. Here we present the Diamond Sutra as a four-level tiered reading, where level 4 is the original text and level 1 is highly simplified.

The Diamond Sutra is written in what is sometimes called Buddhist Hybrid Sanskrit (BHS), a mix between classical Sanskrit and other vernacular languages of the time. The first two levels of our adaptation use classical Sanskrit, and the last two incorporate more features of BHS.

Start reading

Table of contents

  1. (1) buddhaḥ
  2. (2) subhūtiḥ